Awards for Young Investigators

Trainee Awards - SfRBM Annual Conference

SfRBM’s Junior Awards Committee wishes to congratulate the winners of the Society’s annual Trainee Awards. These awards were made available to students and postdocs who submitted abstracts for SfRBM 2020 to present their research. Abstracts were judged using a double blind review process.  12 awards at $500 each were conferred to SfRBM postdoc or student members outside of the United States and 12 awards at $500 each were presented to SfRBM postdoc and student members in the US. Winners will receive special recognition during the 2020 Virtual Conference and free registration to the 2021 or 2022 conference.

2020 Winners

Young Investigator Awards (YIAs) - SfRBM Annual Conference

SfRBM’s Young Investigator Awards (YIAs) are presented to students and postdoctoral fellow members based on a submitted research abstract and the presentation of the work at our Annual Conference, either in oral or poster symposia. Candidates must be the first author on a submitted abstract, must check the appropriate box on the electronic abstract form and must be fully registered to attend the meeting.

Application deadline is September 10. Eligible graduate students must be enrolled in an accredited full-time doctoral degree program at the time of abstract submission. Eligible postdoctoral fellows must be engaged in full-time postdoctoral research and must have no more than five years of research experience beyond their doctoral degree.

Abstracts are judged by members of SfRBM's Awards - Junior Committee during scheduled formal poster presentation times (normally 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm) at the Annual Conference. Judges, who are assigned to review abstracts in their own area of research expertise, evaluate each applicant based on merit, presentation and scientific significance. Winners receive $500 at SfRBM's Annual Conference Awards Banquet in November. Recipients also are given free conference registration to one of the following SfRBM Annual Conference as part of the award.

2020 Winners