SfRBM Lifetime Achievement Award

SfRBM is now accepting nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes an aggregate body of work important to the field of free radical chemistry, redox biology, and antioxidants over a scientist's career. The award includes a featured lecture at SfRBM’s 27th Annual Conference (SfRBM 2020) in Orlando, Florida, as well as:

  • $2,500 cash award
  • Confers a special title of Fellow of the Society for Free Radical Biology and Medicine (F-SFRBM)
  • Paid travel expenses to SfRBM 2020
  • A bronze medal with stand
  • Invited to publish a review article for Free Radical Biology & Medicine, SfRBM's journal, celebrating their scientific contributions and the presentation of the award
  • Have a one-page bio and picture prominently displayed in the SfRBM 2020 Abstract/Program book

Nominations will be taken through May 5, 2020. 


Each submitted nomination should include the following:

  • A signed nomination letter by an SfRBM member describing the candidate and why they are an appropriate candidate for the award (self-nominations are not permitted). Please note that nominees do not have to be current SfRBM members.
  • Updated CV of the candidate.
  • A statement that the candidate, if selected, will be present at the SfRBM 2020 in Orlando, FL (November 18-21, 2020).

Completed submissions should be received by SfRBM no later than Tuesday, May 5, 2020. Emailed submissions are required and can be sent to


2018 - Daret St. Clair, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
2016 - Henry Jay Forman, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
2014 - Jack Lancaster, Jr., Ph.D., F-SFRBM
2012 - Victor Darley-Usmar, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
2010 - Garry Buettner, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
2008 - Barry Halliwell, D.Sc., F-SFRBM
2007 - Ronald Mason, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
2006 - Kelvin J.A. Davies, Ph.D., D.Sc., F-SFRBM
2005 - Balaraman Kalyanaraman, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
2004 - Larry Oberley, Ph.D., F-SFRBM