Trainee Council

2018 TRAINEE COUNCIL

Responsible for representing trainee members to SfRBM leadership and to facilitate professional development sessions for trainees.

The SfRBM Trainee Council is currently accepting nominations for council members. Click here to learn more. The deadline for applications is June 1.

CHAIR

Andrea Braganza, Ph.D.
University of Pittsburgh
 

VICE-CHAIR

Ryan Smith, Ph.D.
Emory University
 

SECRETARY

Archit Rastogi
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
 

COUNCIL MEMBER

Laura Corrales-Diaz Pomatto, Ph.D.
University of Southern California
 

COUNCIL MEMBER

Madelyn Espinosa-Cotton
The University of Iowa
 

COUNCIL MEMBER

Justin Quiles
University of Alabama at Birmingham
 

UPCOMING WEBINAR

Fighting Drug Resistance with Radicals:
Targeting the Lysosome to Design Anti-Cancer Drugs
 

Date: Thursday, July 19, 2018
Speaker: Des Richardson, Ph.D. - University of Sydney
Length of session: 60 minutes
Time: 6:00 pm Eastern (5:00 pm Central, 4:00 pm Mountain, 3:00 pm Pacific, 22:00 GMT/UTC)
Click here to register.

ABOUT THE SPEAKER & PROGRAM OVERVIEW

Professor Des Richardson holds the Chair of Cancer Cell Biology at the University of Sydney, Australia, and is a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) of Australia Senior Principal Research Fellow. He has published over 406 articles, reviews, patents, chapters etc., over his career with over 93% as first, senior or corresponding author. He is Executive Editor of BBA-General Subjects and has served on the Editorial Boards of over 40 international journals, including J. Biol. Chem., Antioxidants Redox Signaling, Biochem. J., BBA-Mol Cell Res, Mol. Pharmacol., Pharmacol. Res., etc. As a major translational research achievement, he has developed the anti-cancer and anti-metastatic drug, DpC, which overcomes P-glycoprotein mediated drug resistance. This has led to commercialization of DpC and the development of the international company, Oncochel Therapeutics LLC, USA and its Australian subsidiary, Oncochel Therapeutics Pty Ltd. Notably, DpC has entered multi-center Phase I clinical trials for the treatment of advanced and resistant cancer. These anti-cancer drugs target the lysosome via the P-glycoprotein transporter.

PROGRAM FORMAT

Members can attend an SfRBM webinar right from their office or home. All you need to participate is a telephone and a computer with high-speed internet connection. The audio is delivered over the telephone (toll-free). Registrants will be provided call in/login information 1-2 days prior to the session and a URL to access the presentation right on the web in real time.

This webinar is sponsored by the SfRBM Trainee Council, but is open to all SfRBM members.

RECORDED WEBINARS

How Heme is Wreaking Havoc in Disease
Rakesh Patel, Ph.D. - July 2017
VIEW WEBINAR

Nitrotyrosine: To Die or Not to Die
Alvaro Estevez, Ph.D. - May 2016
VIEW WEBINAR

The State of the PhD: Exploring Careers Beyond the Professoriate
Laurence Frabottta, Ph.D. - October 2014
VIEW WEBINAR

MENTORING EXCELLENCE AWARD

The SfRBM Mentoring Excellence Award will recognize outstanding mentorship provided by a current member of the SfRBM. The award recipient could be a junior, mid-career or senior principal investigator, who will be nominated by trainees of the SfRBM.

MORE INFORMATION