2020 Regional Redox Biology Symposium



2020 Regional Redox Symposium / Postponed Due to COVID-19 Concerns

SfRBM and the Medical College of Wisconsin have decided to postpone the upcoming Redox Biology Symposium that was scheduled for June 26-27 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.   Based on the latest guidance from public health officials and the institutional travel bans impacting speakers and attendees, we believe that postponing is the correct course of action.   We anticipate rescheduling this program at MCW in Summer 2021.

The fifth annual SfRBM Regional Redox Symposium will be hosted by the Medical College of Wisconsin Redox Biology Program. The symposium will consist of two days of state-of-the-art research talks, both invited and chosen from submitted abstracts. 

Featured Topics

  • Immunology and Inflammation
  • Metabolomics and Metabolism
  • Epigenetics
  • Redox Systems

Featured Speakers

  • Eduardo Chini, MD, PHD, Mayo Clinic
  • David Harrison, MD, Vanderbilt University
  • Roy Silverstein, MD, Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Jennifer Stancill, PhD, Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Melissa Teoh-Fitzgerald, PhD, University of Nebraska Medical Center

Pre-Symposium Workshop

The Pre-Symposium Hands-on Workshop at the Medical College of Wisconsin will comprise of a morning didactic introduction to Redox Biology, focusing on the biological chemistry of reactive species and how to detect them, and an afternoon hands-on practical experience. Attendees will participate in two 2-hour practical sessions from the following four choices:

  • Detection of Nitric Oxide and Related Species by Ozone-Based Chemiluminescence
  • Detection of Oxygen Radicals Using Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) Spin-Trapping
  • The Use of Boronate-Based Probes to Detect Peroxynitrite and Hydrogen Peroxoxide Using a Fluoresence Plate-Reader
  • The Use of HPLC/Fluorescence to Detect Superoxide Formation using Ethidium-Based Probes

Each practical session will be limited to a maximum of 5 participants and the workshop is limited to 20 attendees. 

Symposium Chairs:

  • Neil Hogg, PhD, Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Jeannette Vasquez-Vivar, PhD, Medical College of Wisconsin