2016 Travel Award Recipients


SfRBM’s Junior Awards Committee wishes to congratulate the winners of the Society’s annual Travel Awards. These awards were made available to students and postdocs who applied to attend SfRBM/SFRRI 2016 to present their research. Submitted abstracts were judged using a double blind review process. Ten (10) awards at $1,000 each were conferred to postdoc or student members of SfRBM or SFRRI Regional societies outside of the United States. In addition, ten (10) Travel Awards at $500 each were presented to postdoc and student members in the US. Winners will receive special recognition and their awards at the SfRBM/SFRRI 2016 Awards Banquet in San Francisco.

Firas Alhasson
University of South Carolina – USA

Aditya Arya
Defence Institute of Physiology and Allied Sciences - India

Eugenio Barone
Sapienza University of Rome - Italy

Dustin Carroll
University of Kentucky - USA

Lucas Dantas
Universidade de São Paulo - Brazil

Nina Dickerhof
University of Otago Christchurch - New Zealand

Kevin Downs
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio - USA

Piyushi Gupta Vallur
Penn State University - USA

Sealy Hambright
UT Health Science Center San Antonio - USA

Ogwu Ikwuobe
Aston University - UK

May Lee
SUNY Polytechnic Institute - USA

Alejandra Martínez
Universidad de la República - Uruguay

Angelica Merlot
University of Sydney - Australia

Marcelo Montenegro
Karolinska Institutet - Sweden

John Olthoff
University of Minnesota - USA

Justin Quiles
University of Alabama at Birmingham - USA

Kalin Swain
University of Colorado Denver - USA

Lija Swain
University of Göttingen - Germany

Aditi Verma
Indian Institute of Science - India

Stephanie Wall
University of Alabama at Birmingham - USA